The right grout is as important as the tile you choose. Grout is available in a rainbow of color choices, and advancements in today's grouts make them a nearly maintenance-free way to add to your dcor.

There are three major classifications of grout; cement-based grouts, epoxy-based grouts, and furan resin grouts. Of these three, there are two basic types, sanded and un-sanded.

Sanded cement-based grouts are the most common grout used in just about all areas of the home or in a commercial setting where the grout space is between 1/8 inch and 1/2 inch. Non-sanded cement based grouts are used when the grout space is less than 1/8 inch.

For heavy moisture or demanding areas, use epoxy or urethane grouts. Epoxy-based grouts are strong and water resistant and resist staining, mold and mildew. They are easier to use than previous epoxies and never need sealing. Furan Resin grouts come in sanded and non-sanded, are extremely resistant to chemicals, and are mostly used by builders and contractors.
What you should know:
- Epoxy grouts are harder to install than urethane or latex modified grouts and are best left to professional installation.
- After selecting your grouting products, always follow the manufacturers instructions regarding maintenance.


More Stories

  • Is linoleum flooring a green product?

  •  If I want custom tile for my shower instead of a one-piece…

  • What do I need to know if I’m considering Bamboo flooring? 

Don't Miss

Latest News

Video Center