2014 Preservation Award Winners

- The winners of the 2014 Oil Heritage Region Historic Preservation Awards have been selected and will be recognized at a free Awards Ceremony which will be held at 7 p.m. on Thursday, May 8 at Bromley's Hillhurst Bed & Breakfast in Titusville.

This year's winners are:

Hydetown Borough, in the category of Preservation Stewardship, for the long-term maintenance of the Ridgway Ceremony;

Second Presbyterian Church in Oil City, in the category of Enhancement Project, for the recent restoration of the front of the church;

Dave and Helen Heinzer, in the category of Preservation Stewardship, for the restoration of the General Willis Hulings house in Oil City;

Pleasantville Presbyterian Church, in the category of Reconstruction, for the work recently completed on the church's bell tower and roof;

The Latonia Theatre and Ballroom, in the category of Adaptive Reuse, for the creative repurposing of this historic building;

James L. Love, together with Brad and Heather Schmader, in the category of Preservation Stewardship, for the ongoing stewardship of the Johnstone House in Titusville; and Barbara Gardner, in the category of Preservation Stewardship, for the continuing care of the Wood-Mitchell-Smith residence in Titusville.

Also on the agenda for the evening is a program by Neil and Lois McElwee on the Victorian Architecture in the Oil Heritage Region.

Co-sponsors of this year's Historic Preservation Awards are the Crawford County Historical Society; Friends of Drake Well; Oil City Heritage Society; Oil Region Alliance of Business, Industry & Tourism; Titusville Historical Society; Titusville Renaissance, Inc.; the Venango County Historical Society; and the Venango Museum of Art, Science & Industry.

The awards program recognizes rehabilitation and restoration efforts undertaken during the past five years involving buildings or other structures that are at least 50 years old; individuals may be recognized for their service or commitment which promotes the preservation of the built environment.

Recipients are selected from among the nominations received from the public, interested observers, and property owners.

Reservations for the Awards Ceremony are recommended but not required.

To make your reservation to attend the ceremony, or for more information about the program, please call Toni Kresinski, Project Manager at (814) 677-3152, Ext. 110.

More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News

Video Center