Mercyhurst University Hockey (10-7-17)

Women tie #6 St. Lawrence in OT while men lose 7-6 in OT exhibition to Ryerson

ERIE, Pa. - The Mercyhurst women's hockey team tied sixth-ranked St. Lawrence 1-1 in a non-conference matchup Saturday afternoon at Mercyhurst Ice Center.

The Lakers (0-3-1) and Saints (1-0-1) battled back-and-forth throughout the game. After falling behind in the first period on a goal by Hannah Miller, the Lakers held the puck for most of the second period and it resulted in a game-tying goal by Jennifer MacAskill.

Just before their goal, the Lakers held possession in the offensive end for over a minute, allowing MacAskill's line to jump on the ice before St. Lawrence could change. Morgan Stacey ripped a shot from the point that MacAskill redirected in front at 11:03. Céline Frappier also picked up an assist on the play.

Both teams calmly thwarted off opposing power play chances, with St. Lawrence finishing 0-for-7 on the PP and the Lakers ending up 0-for-6.

Goaltenders Sarah McDonnell and Grace Harrison came up with big saves when their teams needed them most. McDonnell ended up with 18 stops, including two in overtime. Harrison stopped 19 of 20 shots on net.

Mercyhurst begins a six-game road trip before returning home in mid-November. They'll start College Hockey America conference play next weekend, Oct. 13-14, at Lindenwood. Game times are 3 p.m. CST (4 p.m. EST) on Friday and 10:30 CST (11:30 EST) Saturday.


More Stories

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Latest News

Video Center