6 states cut from tri-state coronavirus travel advisory


ALBANY, N.Y. (WROC) — Six states have been removed from the tri-state coronavirus travel advisory, which requires incoming travelers from areas of high infection rates to self-quarantine for two weeks upon arrival.

Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont announced the update Tuesday; New York, Connecticut, and New Jersey formed the tri-state advisory back in late June.

California, Hawaii, Maryland, Minnesota, Nevada, and Ohio were removed from the list in this week’s update.

With Puerto Rico back on the list after being taken off last week, there are currently 30 states and territories impacted by the advisory.

The full updated list of states on the travel advisory:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virgina
  • Wisconsin

The travel advisory quarantine applies to any person who arrives from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.

People caught violating the advisory risk civil penalties ranging from $2,000 to $10,000, Gov. Cuomo said earlier this summer. There are exceptions to the quarantine travel advisory rules: Essential workers are exempt and stays of under 24 hours in an area wouldn’t constitute enforcement.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Pennsylvania COVID-19 Map

Source: Pennsylvania Department of Health

Events Calendar