3 sworn in as Erie police officers

Local News

There are three new members of the Erie Bureau of Police. 

Joseph Martin, Michael Cacchione and Jacob Rausch swore to protect and serve the city of Erie Thursday morning at City Hall.

All three men were raised in the Erie area and bring prior police experience with them to the department.

Rausch, a Millcreek Township native, said he plans to remain in Erie throughout his career.

“It feels wonderful, Rausch said. “It was a long process. I tested a couple of times before they got to my number. I’m happy for the opportunity to finally come down and serve the community down here.”

Martin, Cacchione and Rausch all started their in-house training Thursday.

At this time, the Erie Police Department no longer has any openings for new officers.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Events Calendar